School Board Members

Dan Cassini, Board President, was elected in November of 2016 and is currently serving a four-year term that will expire on December 31, 2024. Dan has lived in Wayland for 12 years and has 3 children attending Wayland Union Schools. He has served for 19+ years in the United States Air Force/Michigan Air National Guard as a munitions and training specialist with the 110th Attack Wing in Battle Creek.  He graduated from Fremont High School then Spring Arbor University with a BS in Organizational Management. He is the founder, director and coach of the Wayland Flag Football program.  Dan is an assistant to the Varsity Football team and Associate Head Coach of the 10U West Michigan Outlaws Baseball team. He loves golfing, camping, skiing and the outdoors.  Dan and his family and attend Corinth Reformed Church.  He also hold board seats on the Wayland Union Education Foundation and Wayland Youth Baseball & Softball League.  Phone: 616-889-8755

Peter ZondervanPete Zondervan, Vice-President, was elected to the board in November 2014 and re-elected in 2018 to serve a four year term expiring December 2022. Pete lives in Wayland with his wife Kristi and his two children. He is   a supervisor with Notions Marketing Corporation in Grand Rapids.  A   Grand Rapids Christian High School graduate, he went to Taylor   University in Upland, Indiana and graduated from Calvin College with a   Bachelor of Arts degree in Sociology. He loves golf, and playing with   games outside with his son Graysen.  He also enjoys fishing, and winter   activities like sledding. 

Email:  Phone: 616-450-1468

Toni OrdwayToni Ordway, Treasurer, was elected to the board in November 2014, re-elected in 2018 and will serve a four year term expiring December 2022. She lives in Wayland with her husband Andy and their 3 boys, Ashton, Adam, and Aiden. She graduated from Ferris State University with a Bachelor’s degree in Computer Information Systems. Toni worked for IBM Global Services and then transitioned into the role of a proud stay at home mom. Toni and her family enjoy traveling, golfing, downhill skiing, boating, hiking, biking and the outdoors.

Email:  Phone: 269-569-4486

Theresa DobryTheresa Dobry, Secretary, has been on the school board since 2011 and is currently serving a four-year term expiring on December 31, 2024. Theresa lives in Dorr and is married to Steve Dobry, a 1988 graduate of WUHS. Together they have three children: Justin, Haley and Brady, two of whom are alumni of WHS and a high school student!  Theresa is originally from Scottville, MI and a 1990 Grad of Mason County Central HS. She has a B.S. from Northern Michigan University in Office Systems. Past work experience includes Dow Chemical Company, We Market Success, and 10+ years working as a substitute teacher in the area.  She is currently employed by D/A Central, Inc.  Theresa attends St. Therese Church and enjoys traveling, watching sports and spending time with family.

Email:  Phone: 616-540-0334

photo of Janel HottJanel Hott, Trustee, was elected to the board in November 2014, re-elected in 2018 and will serve a four year term expiring December 2022. Janel lives in Wayland with her husband Jack. Both of her children are Wayland graduates. Her daughter is currently serving in the US Air Force and her son is attending Kalamazoo Valley Community College.  Janel works as an administrative assistant at Ace Steel and formerly worked at Wayland Union Schools for more than 6 years. She is a 1991 graduate of South Lyon High School and has an associate’s degree in liberal arts from Oakland Community College.

Email:  Phone: (h) 269-792-0297  (c) 269-250-0286

Jason ShaneJason Shane, Trustee, was first elected to the board in November of 2020 with the current four-year term expiring December 31, 2024. Jason lives in Wayland with his wife Chantell Shane and three children. Jason grew up in Vicksburg Michigan, South of Kalamazoo but moved to Wayland in 2010. He is dedicated to his community by which he received a scholarship from the Vicksburg Community Association in 2005 for his services. Jason received his Bachelor’s in Engineering from Western Michigan University and has his Master’s in Engineering Management from Penn State University. He will be working towards his doctorate over the next few years. Jason is the Director of Engineering for ESCO Group located in Walker, MI and was previously the Engineering and Quality Manager of Homag/Stiles North American operations. His line of work focuses on transforming businesses, innovation, and product sustainability. In his personal time, Jason focuses on his family, music and supporting local organizations such as the food pantry with gathering and providing donations. He has also spent time in the past serving as a trustee, treasurer and president for a local HOA organization.

Email:  Phone: 269-271-0503

Becky HohnkeBecky Hohnke, Trustee, was first elected to the board in November of 2020 with the current four-year term expiring December 31, 2024.  Becky is a Wayland graduate.  She resides in the community and works at Bay Valley Foods as a Human Resource Generalist. Becky has two children that attend Wayland Union Schools.  Her daughter is a sophomore and son is in 3rd grade. She is very active within the community. She is a Wayland Kiwanis member, currently serving as Treasurer. She is a Key Communicator for Wayland Union Schools and served on the Strategic Planning committee, as well the bond committee. In the past, Becky has served on the WEPA board and is currently an involved parent volunteering for various activities within the community. 

Email:  Phone: 616-366-6397